TCA Announces Winners of 2013-14 Scholarship Fund

by Jana Ritter - Published: 8/12/2013

This year a new scholarship was bestowed in memory of Stoney “Reese” Stubbs, the son of Russell and Dawn Stubbs of FFE Transportation Services, Inc., Dallas, Texas. The all-round athlete and natural born leader who inspired others to greatness, was only 20 years old when he passed away in June 2012.

Tca winners

Now, twenty-five college students associated with the truckload industry will receive scholarships from the Truckload Carriers Association's (TCA) Scholarship Fund for the 2013-14 academic year. Out of a grand total of approximately $75,000, the scholarships have been broken down into amounts ranging from $2,725 to $6,250. As per TCA's requirements, each scholarship recipient is entering or already a student in good standing at a four-year college or university and is associated with a TCA member company as an employee, independent contractor, or the child, grandchild or spouse of an employee or independent contractor. Additionally, each recipient has shown financial need and scholastic achievement, maintained full-time student status, and demonstrated that he or she is an individual of high character and integrity.

“Since 1973, our scholarship program has been a source of tremendous pride for TCA and our member companies,” said Josh Kaburick, chairman of TCA’s Scholarship Fund and the COO of Earl L. Henderson Trucking Company in Salem, Illinois. “The people who work in the trucking industry already work hard – very hard. By underwriting some of the financial burden for these individuals, we are happy to be reducing stress for families who already sacrifice to move North America’s freight.”

The idea for the Reese Stubbs Memorial Scholarship came from Mark Kessler, senior vice president of PeopleNet of Minnetonka, Minnesota. Kessler is the founder of the annual Transportation Executive Summit at Pebble Beach, a three-day event for CEOs to discuss and advance best practices in the transportation field. Part of the event includes fund-raising for various transportation-related charities, like the American Transportation Research Institute, TCA's Scholarship Fund, Wreaths Across America, and Trucker Buddy. Kessler thought a memorial scholarship in Stubbs' name would be appropriate.

“The Stubbs have been pioneers of the trucking industry for several decades,” said Kessler, “and the recent loss of this bright young man was felt deeply… not just by his family, but throughout the entire transportation community. I hope the awarding of the annual scholarship can provide a legacy for Reese that will help improve our industry for decades to come.”

The following students will receive the scholarships:

Matthew Reed ($6,250), Jennifer Hoekstra ($3,250), Hannah Holloway ($3,250), Jordan Ames ($2,725), Samantha Block ($2,725), Timothy Chism ($2,725), Tanner Dennis-Brown ($2,725), Evan Grant ($2,725), Ethan Grant ($2,725), Sarah Heerboth ($2,725),
Hughston Hodges ($2,725), Mackenzie Jeffries ($2,725), Allison Keene ($2,725), Sarah Lucas ($2,725), Amanda Mankovich ($2,725), Nathaniel McCormick ($2,725), Wendy McKamie ($2,725), Ellen Mundie ($2,725), Kenna Nelson ($2,725), Tyler Prebor ($2,725), Rachel Ryan ($2,725), Ashley Smith ($2,725), Kalie Snyder ($2,725), Meg Will ($2,725) and Courtney Young ($2,725).

Congratulations to all winners!